Why do some people (You know who you are!) feel that "religious freedom" means that I should be free to hear about their dumb-ass religion all the freakin' time? Seems like every time I go on Facebook I see a good dozen posts about how wonderful some people consider their religion, their deity, and assorted whatnot to be. (I know that Facebook is a total waste of effort, but still it's the only way that I can hear from some old friends.) So, let's think about this a little bit, just how great their deity must be if he/she/it seems to require CONSTANT PUBLIC PRAISE?!!! Would you work for, with, or around anybody who acted that way? Say your spouse required you to constantly tell friends, neighbors and total strangers, "Praise Bob in the highest!". (Fill in your spouse's name to replace "Bob", please. Unless your spouse really is named Bob, then you should have been momentarily impressed with my predictive powers.) How long would that marriage last? Now, why would you worship a deity like that? Then, there's that whole prayer thing. They're always either using prayer to praise the big Juju in the sky, or they're asking it for stuff. Hmmm, so much for the whole idea of omniscience, huh? Because if the big guy really does know everything then why do you have to pray for it? Oh, maybe He does know everything, but only cares if you tell Him...?
Oh, there I go expecting people to be reasonable again. Sigh.
No comments:
Post a Comment